I’m Published Again!

Hi Internets!

Yes, an excerpt of my YA short story “The Trees Won’t Tell” (TTWT) was published in the New Welsh Review! You may be wondering why I, an American am published by a Welsh magazine, but cop a squat and I’ll tell you.

Earlier this year I sent TTWT to two competitions. One was with Hunger Mountain and the other was at the New Welsh Reader. I heard back from the latter first and I unfortunately didn’t make the short list. No big deal. So with that out-of-the-way, I felt why not send to some other magazines and journals for regular submissions. At this point I’m thinking the Hunger Mountain competition is a long shot too, but if I was lucky, then I would withdraw anyway. Win-win.

I sent TTWT to a few magazines and forgot about it. That was until I was looking through my spam and lo and behold, sitting in there a couple of days was an offer from New Welsh Review acknowledging that although I didn’t make the short list, that they were interested in an excerpt of my submission (TTWT). WHAT?! So, while flattered, I was really digging Kweli Journal and hoped I heard back from them. I asked if I could take a few days to consider, they said of course and I agonized. Then I gave permission for them to have the rights to my story. Wouldn’t you know a day later Kweli Journal accepted my story for publication too! AND they wanted the full story.

As a POC, Kweli Journal felt like the right move, so I emailed New Welsh Review and explained my situation. Wouldn’t you know they still wanted an excerpt anyway. It’s like a writer’s dream-nightmare. LOL. After some back and forth and it looking like my Kweli publication wasn’t going to happen (TTWT is going under a major rewrite for Kweli’s publication)  New Welsh Reader gave me my second publishing opportunity and I couldn’t be happier! I honestly feel like a low-key celebrity across the pond between this and “Tabitha’s Babies” over at Quarterday. 

This rewrite to TTWT is kicking my butt, but I’ll be back with more booktrack for sure. Not to mention I’m taking a little hiatus from Etta & Emmylou while I get it done.

*squeals because I can’t believe I have a short story published*

*waves*

Later,

Cherish

P.S. Let me know what you think of Gussie (and Erroll). I love those crazy kids!

2 thoughts on “I’m Published Again!

  1. So proud of you! What a rollercoaster, but now you’re ‘seasoned.’ Congrats again and I hope this feelimg buoys you up whenever you need a lift in the future. You’s legit now. 🙂 I can’t wait to read the new Gussie & Erroll story!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

