Mr. Lee

Booktrack! Booktrack!

I told you all I’d be back with a booktrack and I brought along Mr. Lee by the Bobbettes!

 

bobbettes

They’re so young!

 

Fun fact, Etta loathes the Bobbettes. Okay, loathe is a strong word, but if it ain’t the Shirelles then she isn’t interested. The Bobbettes are too modest I suppose for her, with their square neck dresses.

I find this song absolutely cute. It’s almost a time capsule of the late 50s, when people, even young people referred to their peers as Mr. or Miss(Though word on the street is they’re singing it about a teacher.) It’s adorable. And I love how bubbly the song is. It’s just perfect! I knew I had to incorporate somehow, since Pearl has a brother named Lee. They sing this song for him, actually. Plus, they actually sound like teenagers singing.

There was a show Off-Broadway called, “The Marvelous Wonderettes” about these friends/girl group that is performing at their school’s talent show.

 

marvelouswonderettes

This show is sooooo underrated!

 

They use old doo-wop songs to tell their stories. It’s really neat and pretty funny. It’s one of my favorite cast recordings to listen to. At any rate, they have a version of “Mr. Lee” that makes me tap my toes too. Give it a listen.

In other WIP news, I think I’m just about done with my first draft. That is after I pen the last chapter (or two. I haven’t decided if I can finish it next chapter or not). I finished chapter twenty-one tonight, and I hate it, but it’s done. The ending is near that’s for sure.

Stay tuned.

For what?

Well you’re just gonna have to wait to find out.

Later, taters,

Cherish

Leave a Reply

