Looking For A Blog To Follow?

Hey internets!

I can’t believe that it’s May! Crazy!

may

Anyway, I’m here to share a blog by a new friend of mine, Fanni! We met on Scribophile where she was just so warm and kind and encouraging about my writing. She’s definitely someone you want to follow. I have a little interview to tell you why, just in case you like to make informed decisions and don’t randomly follow people. Even if they are incredibly talented and overall awesome.

But first thing first, Fanni Sütő is a writer, poet, dreamer who believes in fairy tales even if they are dark, disenchanted and deconstructed. She writes about everything which comes in her way or goes bump in the night. She has been published in Hungary, the US, the UK and Australia.

 

fanni

Here’s Fanni!

 

You can find her on her blog: www.inkmapsandmacarons.com

Twitter: @Fanni_Pumpkin

Instagram: Parisiantreasures

Do you plan on using an illustrator? What sort of artist do you imagine would be best for your story?

I love cross-art projects. I’ve been working with an illustrator, for example he designed the cover for my bilingual short story collection and I wrote him poems for one of his artistic projects. I also had some of my short stories published on The Story Shack where you’re paired up with an illustrator. I really enjoyed that. I think I’d be best matched with an illustrator who is a bit dreamy, dark and Gothic in the vein of Dave McKean or Chris Riddell. I’m not too picky though, I’m happy to work with anybody nice. So if there is an illustrator out there reading this who would be interested in working on a project together, please get in touch, I’d be very happy to hear from you

Do you think that the cover plays an important part in the buying process?

Yes. Although we all know the saying “Don’t judge a book by its cover,” I think the aesthetics still matter a lot. If you wander into a bookshop with no special book in mind, you will reach for the book that catches your eye. It’s sad but true. So I hope one day when my novel is ready to become a book, it will have a nice cover.

Have you written works in collaboration with other writers, and if so: why did you decide to collaborate and did it affect your sales?

I wrote a novella called The Gift of the Sea, together with my dearest writing friend, Gabriella Szaszkó (check out her writing here) It was very exciting because she writes dark realist fiction or horror, I write light-hearted realist fiction of fantasy. However, our styles merged well and we learned a lot from writing together. We published the story for free on our respective blogs so I don’t know if it would have affected the sales… I’m always open to collaborations, serious or just for fun, again if anybody out there is interested, feel free to get in touch!

If you could retire into any fictional world, which would it be?

Probably one of Jane Austen’s novels. I could go to balls, read books and maybe have my very own park.

What literary character is most like you?

Hermione Granger. Elizabeth Bennet, Georgia Nicholson, Eowyn

 

So? What are you waiting for?! Get to following! You won’t be disappointed.

I’ll be back soon with more booktrack.

Cherish

Leave a Reply

