Apologies & Playing Catch-up

Dare I say I’m on a roll this year? I’ve read a book. If you haven’t already, pick up a copy of Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson. It’s set in my stomping ground of Brooklyn and some of the characters really conjured up some of my old classmates. It’s non stop twist and turns. Consider yourself warned about the whiplash. I’ve also written a piece of flash fiction for a contest. It’s a first for me, but I can see myself tackling some more. I’ve absolutely fallen in love with the lovebirds in my story and I’ve already started dreaming up more for them. My next novel maybe?

I’m really here to issue an official apology for my horrendous typos. I swear I use spell and grammar check, but some things just keep slipping by. Then I notice it after it’s been published for days and hours! Truth is I have issues with punctuation, and I tend to type how I talk, which isn’t always grammatically correct. My critique buddies have been great for this. They are nice enough to point out the errors to me. No joke, I can only discern where to put commas maybe 60% of the time. I don’t know why I don’t grasp the rules at this point. It’s very embarrassing as a writer. So again, I apologize if you read my post and wonder if I’ve been typing with my feet.

How about a WIP update?

Well, I finished my 19th chapter in about 3 days! Anyone who is familiar with my writing schedule knows it takes about 2-3 weeks for me to crank out a chapter. The sad part is I got some feedback on it and scrapped it. And by scrapped I mean it’s in a word document, I just likely won’t use it. I was creating hysteria that I thought I was doing a good job of leaving eggs to hint at. Turns out I wasn’t. So, it prompted me to go back and edit some of my beginning chapters. Which let me tell you was not as hard as I thought it’d be. The hardest part was getting rid of all the lyrics. Yes, I am omitting all lyrics from my WIP except for the ones that Etta writes/I write for Etta…and Jake…and Emmylou. No worries, I’ll still share the booktrack. Long live Doo-wop!

I’m starting to see the light. The end is near. I’m so excited and pumped and overall proud at where I am at the point in the story. Don’t get me wrong, I know it’s not perfect, but I’m close to finishing a novel! If I had to put a number to it, I’d say I was about 80% done. Do you know how many people have that on their bucket list?

See you all in February!

Cherish

One thought on “Apologies & Playing Catch-up

Leave a Reply

